Family Cookbook

We have a cookbook that my Oma started a very long time ago. She gathered recipes from family members and put them in a box. My mom completed the project when I was 4? ish. She made copies for all the people in the family that wanted one. I remember it being used all the time and using it all the time. Most of the recipes are great and some of them I use all the time.

But alas, my generation didn’t/doesn’t have any. The only reason I have one is because I took the copy that was going to be my uncles.

So we decided to redo it. So far I’ve done almost 19,000 words and 77 two columned pages of recipes. It has a lot of work yet to go but it’s going to be awesome!! It will be available to buy, so I thought I’d post some teaser recipes of my favorites!

Homemade Hot Chocolate

12 quarts powered milk

1 cup powdered sugar

1 pound Nestlé’s Quick Chocolate

1 small jar Coffee-Mate

  • Mix all together and use ½ cup to every 1 cup of hot water

The worlds best hot chocolate!!! Mom (Oma/Carolyn) used to keep a 6 quart container of it by the stove in the winter. YUM

This is the best!! No need to buy store bought mix, this is sooooo much better. And so good for the coming fall months, it’s my favorite to mix in some peppermint schnapps.

Zucchini Bread

3 eggs

1 cup oil

1 ¾ cups sugar

2 cup peeled and grated zucchini

2 tsp vanilla

3 cups flour

¼ tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp soda

1-3 tsp cinnamon

½ cup raisins (I skip this)

½ cup chopped nuts (I also skip this)

2 tsp grated orange rind (I skip this, too)

  • Beat eggs well and add next 4 ingredients
  • Stir in the rest and pour into 2 greased loaf pans
  • Bake at 350 for 1 hour

Mom

I’m posting this one because it’s still zucchini season and I know a lot of you need a new recipe to try and use some up! I made this the other day and Matt called it zucchini crack. We ate a whole loaf in one sitting. I make sure to under-bake it just a little so it’s nice and gooey.

Hope you enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

