Swinging

I’m multi-tasking right now, taking advantage of my last few hours of internet for a few days and enjoying a break from life, swinging in the hammock.

But I’ve also been swinging in other ways lately. As I was sitting here I started to think back to the last week or two of life and realized that I’ve been swinging back and forth so fast between school, work, and housework, that I haven’t been able to jump off and stop the spinning in my head.

Remember when you were a kid and you would pump your legs as hard as you could? You would make the swing go as high as you could? As fast as you could? Then you would wait till you were at the top and jump off?

Well, that’s been life for me. Higher and higher, faster and faster, my head has been spinning with to-do lists, work days, school lists, school work, quizes, discussion boards, dinners, cleaning. But when I’ve tried to jump off I’ve been unable. Stuck in the fast paced-ness and doing-things-ness of life.

This weekend Hubs and I are going camping for four days! Four days of no internet, no tv, no jobs, no work, no(t much) school, and no distractions.

Days of getting to focus on our marriage, focus on each other, focus on God’s beauty, and making memories with some great friends!

The busy-ness is necessary for now in our day to day life. We need to work to eat, to buy Matt a pickup that will start in the cold, to fix up our house, to pay for my school. But it will be so nice to get away from it all for a few days.

So now I’m off, to pack clothes and food. But it’s been a good moment here in the hammock. Writing and watching the birds, mainly the male pheasant strutting around the yard 🙂

How do you jump off?

Leave a Reply

