Homemade Burger Buns

I’ve tried lately to not buy any bread products from the store. It has been very successful, I’m proud to say. I’ve started buying costco sized bags of flour. I love baking bread and the smell of fresh bread in the oven. These buns were soft and fluffy. They held up pretty well to the hamburgers we ate with them, tonight’s challenge is for them to hold up to sloppy joe’s.

The recipe:
2 Tbs active dry yeast
1/4 cup sugar (I only used a tablespoon or so because I thought that was a bit much.)
1 cup warm water
1/3 cup oil
1 egg
3-3.5 cups flour

Preheat the oven to 425.
If you want to add the yeast and water and sugar, let it proof and that fun stuff have at it. I dump it all together mix it up and call it good. Mix for about 5 minutes, divide into 12 pieces (I did ten and they were good sized but not huge.) Place on a greased cookie sheet and rest for ten minutes. Bake for 8-12 minutes.

20140410-103056.jpg

20140410-103102.jpg

Leave a Reply

