Panda Orange Chicken

So Matt and I love Chinese food! But he hates Panda because of a bad night after eating there, and really I can’t blame him. But since it’s the only fast food Chinese in town, we are sunk. Until I got brave and decided to try to make it at home. Yes folks, this was my first Chinese recipe attempt at home… How it waited for 22 years is beyond me. Now that I have started, however, this will be a new usual!

So I found a recipe for orange chicken, and since we’ve made it twice in the last week I can verify that it is amazing.
Here’s where I got the recipe:
http://www.food.com/recipe/panda-express-orange-chicken-103215

And here’s my adapted recipe:
Cook chicken in a skillet and then remove.
Deglaze pan with 2 tbs red wine vinegar.
Add the 1tsp garlic, minced.
After 2 minutes add the orange sauce recipe: adapted version below.
1/2 teaspoon crushed hot red chili pepper
1/4 cup water
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
1 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 1/2 tablespoons water
5 tablespoons sugar
5 tablespoons white vinegar
1 orange, zest of and juice (I used a cutie)

Mix the sauce together and then pour into pan.
Add 1 Tbs cornstarch and cook until thickened.

Serve over rice.

20140227-110258.jpg

20140227-110306.jpg

Leave a Reply

