Quinoa Chili

A week or so ago I was making a pot of beans with the intention to make a bunch of homemade freezer burritos (a post will be coming for those). I am not good at eyeballing beans however, and made WAY too many. Try double or triple what I needed for the burritos.

So since I had just bought my first bag of quinoa and was anxious to see what it tasted like I decided to make chili with my beans, some of the hamburger I had cooked for the burritos, and quinoa.

The recipe:

Beans: I have dried beans that came straight out of the combine when we were harvesting them but 2-3 cans kidney, pinto, black beans or mixture of them would work.
Meat: (optional) I used about a half pound of ground beef, already cooked.
Onion: half to one onion, chopped
Garlic: I used three cloves, minced.
Tomatoes: I used a 16 oz can of crushed and a 6 oz can of paste.
Quinoa: (precooked) 1 cup quinoa and 2 cups water, cooked like rice.
Chili Powder: 2 Tablespoons
Red Pepper: 1/2 Teaspoon

Mix it all together and let it simmer for a while (10 minutes).
It was way better the next day, after the quinoa soaked up the chili flavors.
20140203-155141.jpg

20140203-155151.jpg
We froze half of the batch so that we would have easy meals for when I’m swamped with school. I will be making this again, it was amazing!! I loved taking it to school for lunch with some chips to eat it with!
Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Quinoa Chili

  1. I love a good chilli- is this one thick? Did you find the quinoa took out a lot of the moisture in the chilli? I am trying to avoid using flour pastes to thicken my chilli and think quinoa would be a great option to thicken up my chilli. Looks great!

Leave a Reply

