Buffalo Cauliflower Bites

A while ago I saw these pop up on pintrest and I was intrigued. I, like most people, enjoy buffalo chicken flavored foods. They are spicy, tangy, usually deep fat fried and crunchy, and mostly unhealthy. So I jumped on trying to make a healthier, baked version with vegetables.
The recipe:
1 head of cauliflower, cut into bite size pieces.

For the batter
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup water
dash of Frank’s Wing Sauce (or Frank’s Original Hot Sauce)
1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
1/4 teaspoon dried onion

For the buffalo sauce
1/4 cup Frank’s Wing Sauce
3 Tablespoons salted butter, melted
pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 450.

Here is my batter, I used a bit more than a dash of hot sauce because I really love spicy foods.

20140203-154103.jpg

You coat the cauliflower in the batter and put them on a baking sheet lined with foil and sprayed. DO NOT SKIP THE FOIL. I did and I am still soaking the baking trays to try and get the baked on batter off, it’s not a good thing.

Bake for ~15 minutes. Then coat the cauliflower bites with the buffalo sauce and bake again until the sauce is dried, ~5minutes.

20140203-154130.jpg

After they are done, they look like this! I served mine with ranch sauce :] Blue cheese would also be good.

20140203-154145.jpg

They didn’t last very long! I will probably make these again and you should try them too. While I would never call it a chicken substitute they were a good option if you are trying to not eat junk or if you are vegetarian. They were actually pretty filling too, the hubs and I ate a whole head of cauliflower and that was our dinner.  I didn’t even feel bad about eating all of it :]

Here’s a link to where I got the recipe:

http://www.persnicketyplates.com/2013/04/buffalo-cauliflower.html

Leave a Reply

